2015 PUBLIC PROGRAMS LIST

NOTE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO PURCHASE TICKETS TO ANY OF OUR 2014 PROGRAMS, VISIT OUR EVENTS PAGE BY CLICKING ON THE EVENTS TAB AT THE LEFT, AND THEN SELECTING FROM THE DROP-DOWN MENU AT THE TOP OF THAT PAGE.

*FOURTH FRIDAY TOURS Laurel Hill's "Fourth Friday" tour series occurs on the fourth Friday of every month at 10am. Programs will highlight the marble masterpieces, stunning views and legendary stories that afford the cemetery its WOW factor. These are the ultimate tours for first-time visitors to Laurel Hill, and anyone else who likes beautiful art, stimulating history, and just enjoying life...even amongst the dead!

**YOGA IN THE CEMETERY This new program gives participants a chance to find inner tranquility and balance during a one-hour session amongst the peaceful backdrop of Laurel Hill. Sessions are led by an experienced yoga instructor.

JANUARY Thursday, January 8, 10am
Lunchbox Lecture: A Toasty Tour for the Curious

Friday, January 23, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

FEBRUARY Saturday, February 7, 1pm
Transplanted Souls: Another Try at Eternal Rest

Thursday, February 12, 10am
Lunchbox Lecture: Laurel Hill's Presidential Connections

Thursday, February 12, 6:30pm
Victorians After Dark: Love and Lust in the 19th Century

Friday, February 27, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

MARCH Saturday, March 7, 10am
Laurel Hill Cemetery Tour Guide Training Workshop

Thursday, March 12, 10am
Lunchbox Lecture: Meet the Entertainers

Sunday, March 15th, 1pm
St. Patrick's Day Tour, Toasts and Tastes

Saturday, March 21, 1pm
Classy Broads and Daring Dames: Ladies of North Laurel Hill

Friday, March 27, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Saturday, March 28, 1pm
Designing for the Dead: Art and Architecture of Laurel Hill

APRIL Saturday, April 11, 1pm
Doctors' Orders: Laurel Hill's Physicians and Their Patients

Sunday, April 12, 1pm
Surrender at Appomattox: The End of the Civil War

Saturday, April 18, 1pm
Patriots, Politicians and Playwrights: Philadelphia Lawyers at Laurel Hill

Sunday, April 19, 1pm
Liberty or Death: The Revolutionary War Patriots of Laurel Hill

Friday, April 24, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Friday, April 24, 6pm
What's Your Sign? Astrology With a Sense of Humors

Friday, April 24, 7:30pm
Astronomy Night: Stargazing from the Cemetery
a Philadelphia Science Festival Event Sunday, April 26, 1pm
Bones, Bells and Whistles: A History of Philly’s Scientific Men and Women a Philadelphia Science Festival Event

MAY Saturday, May 2, 1pm
The Pen is Mightier than the Sword: Writers, Editors and Publishers of Laurel Hill

Thursday, May 7, 6pm
Cryptic Crypts: Egyptian Symbolism at Laurel Hill

Saturday, May 9, 10am
Yoga in the Cemetery

Saturday, May 9, 11am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Friday, May 15, 8pm
Lunar Stroll: Photographing Laurel Hill After Hours

Saturday, May 16, 8pm
A Ghostly Circus: Fire Arts Performance in the Cemetery
Rain Date: Saturday, May 17, 8pm Sunday, May 17, 10am
1865: Lincoln's Assassination and the End of the Civil War (Veteran Flag Placement followed by a 150th Anniversary Exhibit Tour)

Friday, May 22, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Sunday, May 24, 12pm
Memorial Day Parade, Service & Reception (presented by the General Meade Society)

Wednesday, May 27, 6:30pm
Yoga in the Cemetery

Sunday, May 31, 10am
The Art of Laurel Hill Cemetery (Co-Sponsored by the Violette de Mazia Foundation)

JUNE Saturday, June 6, 8pm
Gothic Americana Folk and Blues Concert (presented by The Bailey Hounds)
Rain Date: Saturday, June 13, 8pm Sunday, June 7, 10am
Nature in the Necropolis

Saturday, June 13, 10am
Yoga in the Cemetery

Saturday, June 13, 11am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Sunday, June 14, 1pm
Lovers of Learning: The 200th Anniversary of the Athenaeum

Saturday, June 19, 8pm
Lunar Stroll: Photographing Laurel Hill After Hours

Saturday, June 20, 7pm
The Soulstice (a Young Friends Fundraising Event)

Wednesday, 24, 6:30pm
Yoga in the Cemetery

Friday, June 26, 10am
Laurel Hill: the Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Saturday, June 27, 9pm
Cinema in the Cemetery

Sunday, June 28, 1pm
To Set Them Free: Abolition of Slavery at Laurel Hill

JULY Saturday, July 11, 10am
Yoga in the Cemetery

Saturday, July 11, 11am
Laurel Hill: The Hots Spots and Storied Plots

Friday, July 17, 8pm
Lunar Stroll: Photographing Laurel Hill After Hours

Wednesday, July 22, 6:30pm
Yoga in the Cemetery

Friday, July 24, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

AUGUST Saturday, August 1, 7-10pm
Under a Crescent Moon
Summer Open House and Veteran's Night of Illumination
Rain Date: Sunday, August 2, 7pm - 10pm Saturday, August 8, 10am
7th Annual Car and Hearse Show
presented by Mohnton Professional Car Club

Saturday, August 8, 10am
Yoga in the Cemetery

Saturday, August 8, 11am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Thursday, August 13, 6pm
The Streets of Philadelphia

Friday, August 21, 8pm
Lunar Stroll: Photographing Laurel Hill After Hours

Saturday, August 22, 9pm
Cinema in the Cemetery

Wednesday, August 26, 6:30pm
Yoga in the Cemetery

Friday, August 28, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Sunday, August 30, 1pm
South of the Bridge: Explorations of the Cemetery's Southernmost Sod

SEPTEMBER Friday, September 11, 8pm
Saturday, September 12, 8pm
They Only Come Out At Night: A Graveyard Cabaret
presented by Rev Theatre Company
a Philadelphia Fringe Festival Event Rain Date: Sunday, 13, 8pm Saturday, September 12, 10am
Yoga in the Cemetery

Saturday, September 12, 11am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Friday, September 18, 8pm
Saturday, September 19, 8pm
They Only Come Out At Night: A Graveyard Cabaret
presented by REV Theater Company
a Philadelphia Fringe Festival Event
Rain Date: Sunday, 20, 8pm Sunday, September 20, 1pm
The Worlds of Thomas Jefferson at Laurel Hill

Friday, September 25, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Saturday, September 26, 6pm
Music for the Hearing Eye: Concert Atop the Crypts
presented by The Divine Hand Ensemble
Rain Date: Sunday, 27, 6pm Sunday, September 27, 1pm
Spirits and Spiritualists

OCTOBER Friday, October 2, 7pm
Saturday, October 3, 7pm Over My Dead Body: Murder Mystery in the Cemetery
presented by The Mechanical Theatre
Rain Date: Sunday, October 4, 7pm Sunday, October 4, 1pm
Sinners, Scandals and Suicides

Tuesday, October 6, 6pm
Edgar Allan Poe: Deep Into the Darkness

Saturday, October 10, 11am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Saturday, October 10, 5pm
7th Annual Rest in Peace 5K Run

Friday, October 16, 7pm
Saturday, October 17, 7pm
Soul Crawl: Haunted Halloween History Tours

Friday, October 23, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

Friday, October 23, 7pm
11th Annual Gravediggers' Ball

Friday, October 30, 7pm
True Tales From the Tombs: Mischief Night by Firelight
presented by Not Ready for Afterlife Players

Saturday, October 31, 1-3pm
Fall Family Day: Halloween Picnic and Parade

NOVEMBER Sunday, November 8, 1pm
Buried in the Land of Strangers

Tuesday, November 10, 10am
Marine Corps Anniversary Service

Sunday, November 14, 1pm
From Sails to Steel: Shipbuilders of Philadelphia
Tour, Exhibit Display and Reception

Saturday, November 21, 1pm
From the Scottish Isles to the Hills of Laurel

Friday, November 27, 10am
Laurel Hill: The Hot Spots and Storied Plots

DECEMBER Saturday, December 19, 1pm
Spirits of Christmas Past: Laurel Hill's Yuletide Connections

Thursday, December 31, 12pm
General Meade Birthday Celebration
presented by the General Meade Society

PRIVATE TOURS & SPEAKERS SERIES The Friends are pleased to present an array of tour topics, in addition to any public program subject listed above, for private and school group tours of the Cemetery. We also offer the option of booking one of our knowledgeable guides to lecture at regional sites through our Speakers Series. For more information on arranging your private tour or speaker, please click on the Private Tours tab at the top of this page. Please note that ALL privately organized Group and School Tours must be conducted by one of the Friends of Laurel Hill Cemetery's certified Tour Guides. External organizations and individuals are forbidden from using the Cemetery for personal profit or private activities not first approved by Laurel Hill. We are not a public or city-run park, but a nonprofit, privately-owned site. Proceeds raised through our public and private tours directly support the preservation of our National Historic Landmark.

TICKETING POLICY: PUBLIC TOURS and PROGRAMS Ticket sales help to support the Friends of Laurel Hill Cemetery’s missions to preserve, promote and further interpret our National Historic Landmark site. We strive for excellence in programming, and work to ensure a positive and memorable visitor experience.

ADVANCE SALES and METHODS of PAYMENT
The Friends of Laurel Hill Cemetery offer the opportunity for advance ticket purchases on most tours and programs, while requiring advance purchases for several events each year. Advance purchases can be made via credit card through our online store or over the phone; via check sent by mail; or via cash in person at the cemetery office. Subject to availability, tickets can also be purchased at the door for most events, via credit card, check or cash. All major credit cards are accepted on our online store; all major credit cards, except American Express, are accepted at the door. Please refer to individual tour and program descriptions on our website Events page, searchable by month, for event-specific ticketing information.

SOLD OUT EVENTS
Attendance limits are established on most Laurel Hill Cemetery tours and programs. Tickets are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis. If an event sells out, it will be posted on our website immediately, and online registration will be suspended. Tickets will not be available at the door.

INDIVIDUAL CANCELLATION
The Friends do not offer refunds on tickets. If a registrant cannot attend an event for which advance tickets have been purchased, the Friends offer several options: 1) exchange your tickets for another event of equal or lesser admission value, subject to ticket availability, within one year from date of cancellation; 2) use your purchase as a credit towards an event of greater admission value, subject to availability, within one year from date of cancellation; 3) transfer your tickets to another person for the same event, or; 4) turn your ticket purchase into a tax-deductible donation to the Friends’ missions of preservation and education.

SITE CANCELLATION
The Friends of Laurel Hill Cemetery reserves the right to cancel a tour or program due to inclement weather, low enrollment or any other unforeseen circumstance that will impact the viability of an event. Notice of cancellation will be posted on the homepage of our website, as well as on our Facebook page, a minimum of two hours prior to the scheduled start time. At the time of cancellation, staff will contact all advance registrants, via their provided phone numbers and/or email addresses, to personally inform them. Should the Friends reschedule a cancelled event and a registrant cannot attend on the rescheduled date, a credit in the amount of the ticket price paid will be given to the individual towards attendance at any forthcoming tour or program, expiring one year from the date of cancellation. Should the Friends choose not to reschedule a cancelled event, refunds will be issued in full, and will be credited back to the credit card used for purchase within ten business days.

TICKETING POLICY: PRIVATE GROUP TOURS RESERVATIONS and METHODS of PAYMENT
Private tours must be scheduled a minimum of two weeks in advance of group’s preferred date. Deposits are required to reserve a date and guide. For groups of ten persons or less, the required deposit is $25. For groups larger than ten persons, the required deposit is $50. Deposits can be made via credit card through our online store or over the phone; via check sent by mail; or via cash in person at the cemetery office. The balance of the tour cost is due upon your arrival on the day of your tour, and can also be paid via credit card, check or cash. All major credit cards, except American Express, are accepted at the door.

GROUP CANCELLATION
The Friends do not offer refunds on tours. If a group cancels a tour for which a deposit has been paid, the Friends offer two options: 1) use your deposit as a credit towards a rescheduled private tour within one year from date of cancellation, or; 2) turn your ticket purchase into a tax-deductible donation to the Friends’ missions of preservation and education. Please refer to the Private Tours section of our website for additional information on group tour policies.



The tours and programs of Laurel Hill Cemetery are administered by the Friends of Laurel Hill, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Should you have questions about our Ticketing Policy, please contact the Friends at (215)228-8200 or tours@thelaurelhillcemetery.org.